Tyla

To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now
OK
Advert
Advert
Advert

Scary map feature on your phone reveals exactly where you’ve been and the photos you took there

Kit Roberts

Published 
| Last updated 

Scary map feature on your phone reveals exactly where you’ve been and the photos you took there

Featured Image Credit: Google

At this point, it seems to be a more or less universally acknowledged fact that privacy as we knew it simply no longer exists.

Big tech companies harvest huge amounts of data about their users. It could be what you clicked on, what you watched for longer, what time you're most active, and where you are.

If you use the internet, it's more or less impossible to escape.

Now, people are discovering a feature in Google Photos showing a map of which photos you took and where you took them.

Advert
Tech companies collect a lot of user data. Credit: Pexels
Tech companies collect a lot of user data. Credit: Pexels

The feature was first announced back in 2020 as the app got a big redesign.

If you were wondering how to view your photo map, here's a step-by-step guide:

Start by launching the Google Photos app.

Advert

Then you go to the bottom of the page and go into the search bar.

You should see the 'places' section, showing all the locations where you have taken pictures.

That is where you can see 'your map', which shows all the photos that you've taken in a particular location.

However, if it's not your cup of tea, there is a way for you to limit how much data Google is able to get from you from your snaps.

Advert
Credit: Google
Credit: Google

Go into Google Photos.

From there, click on the circular icon that has your image or initials on it.

A pop-up box will come up, with one of the options being Google Photos Settings.

Advert
You might be able to avoid some companies, but not Google. Credit: Pexels
You might be able to avoid some companies, but not Google. Credit: Pexels

From there you can go into the location row, the seventh row down.

If you click on this you will see an option called 'photos with location'.

From there if you want to remove the location from a photo, click on the three dots on the photo.

Advert

Scroll down until you see 'estimated location'.

Click the pencil icon at the end of the row and then click 'remove location'.

While there's not an awful lot you can do to stop companies from collecting data entirely, other than just unplugging completely, there are some steps you can take to protect your privacy online.

Chief among these is taking a lot of care with what permissions you give to what apps. For Google Photos to track your location you have to allow it to do so in your phone's settings, and this can be turned off, with Google also advising how to do this on its website.

Topics: News, Technology, TikTok, Instagram

Kit Roberts
More like this
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

Life

‘Delusional’ man slammed after admitting to falling in love with his own cousin

a day ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Study reveals psychopaths could be identified by surprising physical trait

a day ago