Tyla

To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now
OK
Advert
Advert
Advert

Apple set to permanently delete some people's photos from iPhones next month

Rhiannon Ingle

Published 
| Last updated 

Apple set to permanently delete some people's photos from iPhones next month

Featured Image Credit: Pexels

If you're anything like me, then you'll probably have hundreds if not thousands of random screenshots, bulk Whatsapp group snaps and dodgy slips saved to your phone.

Loading…

However, amid the avalanche of pics we probably don't care too much about - there are a load of sentimental and nostalgic shots we'd probably prefer to keep hold of for the mems.

But Apple users are now being warned that the company is set to permanently delete some people's photos from iPhones just next month.

Advert
iPhone users have until next month to back up their photos. Credit: Kampus Production / Pexels
iPhone users have until next month to back up their photos. Credit: Kampus Production / Pexels

The tech giant has issued a warning to iPhone users that they will permanently delete an entire photo album from all devices next month.

The album in question, My Photo Stream, a service that automatically stores any snaps from the last 30 days, is currently scheduled to be shut down on 26 July but there's thankfully a way around making sure you don't lose the contents of the album forever.

In short, the stream has already stopped automatically uploading pictures earlier this week (26 June) but everything that is currently in it will be lost if not backed-up elsewhere once the service is removed a month later.

Advert

Apple's support page explains: "The photos in My Photo Stream are already stored on at least one of your devices, so as long as you have the device with your originals, you won’t lose any photos as part of this process.

"If a photo you want isn't already in your library on a particular iPhone, iPad, or Mac, make sure that you save it to your library on that device."

Unsure of how to do so?

My Photo Stream will be removed from all Apple devices by 26 July. Credit: Pexels
My Photo Stream will be removed from all Apple devices by 26 July. Credit: Pexels
Advert

Simply open up your Photos app and tap Albums at the bottom.

Many different albums will then appear including Recents, Whatsapp and Favourites.

Scroll until you see My Photo Stream and, once you're in, press select it in the top right corner of the screen.

All you have to do from there is select all the images from the album you want to keep then tap the square share button with an arrow coming out the top and then press save to ensure they're all backed-up to your device and you're sorted!

Advert

Phew - crisis averted.

Moving forward, Apple points to iCloud Photos as 'the best way to keep the photos and videos you take up to date across all your devices and safely stored'.

"If you already have iCloud Photos enabled on all of your devices, you don't need to do anything else - your photos already sync to iCloud," the support page explains.

My Photo Stream is scheduled to be shut down on 26 July, 2023.

Advert

Tyla has reached out to Apple for comment.

Topics: Technology, News, Apple

Rhiannon Ingle
More like this
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

Entertainment

Love Island’s Georgia Steel reveals she feels like 'the most hated woman in the country' amid death threats

12 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Hairy Bikers star Dave Myers has died aged 66

19 hours ago