Instagram introduces 'Quiet Mode' so you can get some peace and quiet from your followers
| Last updated
Featured Image Credit: Iain Masterton / R Johns / Alamy Stock Photo
Ever wanted to get a bit of peace and quiet from all your annoying followers on social media?
Yeah, me too - and a new feature recently introduced by one app has just the answer to stop you from being disturbed.
Instagram say that they hope the new feature will help people to set new boundaries with their friends and followers.
Once 'Quiet Mode' has been enabled, you won't receive any form of notifications from the app.
Your profile's activity status will also change to let people know you are in the new mode, and the app will send an automatic message to anyone sending you a DM.
In a blog post, Instagram said that this new feature is aimed at a particular age category.
They wrote: "Teens have told us that they sometimes want to take time for themselves and might be looking for more ways to focus at night, while studying and during school.
"You can easily customize your 'Quiet Mode' hours to fit your schedule and once the feature is turned off, we’ll show you a quick summary of notifications so you can catch up on what you missed."
While anyone can use 'Quiet Mode', there is an obvious focus from Instagram on teens.
When you spend a specific amount of time on the social media app at night, you will be notified with a prompt to the feature.
You can also customise the new mode to fit your schedule, obviously some people may be working and awake during the night, so their downtime could be during the day.
And once you turn off 'Quiet Mode', Instagram will show you a brief summary of everything you missed during your downtime.
'Quiet Mode' is available now in the US, UK, Ireland, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand, with the hope that more countries will follow soon.
Elsewhere in the blog post, Instagram announced new ways to manage your recommendations.
The social media giant said: "You can now choose to hide multiple pieces of content in Explore that you aren’t interested in at one time.
"Additionally, when you select 'Not interested' on a post seen in Explore, we’ll aim to avoid showing you this kind of content going forward in other places where we make recommendations, like Reels, Search and more."