Tyla

To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now
OK

Vegans Slam Vimto 'For Taking Step Backwards' As It Starts Using Animal Products In Drink

Joanna Freedman

Published 
| Last updated 

Vegans Slam Vimto 'For Taking Step Backwards' As It Starts Using Animal Products In Drink

Featured Image Credit: Vimto

Vimto is no longer suitable for vegans, the brand has confirmed.

The squash drink recently altered its recipe to include vitamin D, and has confirmed that the supplement it added is made from animal products.

Typically, vitamin D3 in supplements is made from lanolin, which is often taken from sheep wool.

Responding to the news, vegans who were fans of the fruity drink took issue with the ingredient change, even launching a petition to reverse it.

The squash is no longer vegan (Credit: Vimto)
The squash is no longer vegan (Credit: Vimto)

The petition - set up by 30-year-old mental health nurse, Ian Anderson - reads: "[We] feel that this is a regressive and unnecessary decision when an increasing amount of people are becoming vegan and eating plant-based diets to oppose the abuse, exploitation, and killing of animals.

"There is no reason why Vimto needs to contain animal products. We call on Nichols plc to either reverse this decision or to use a plant based Vitamin D such as Vitamin D2. #MakeVimtoVeganAgain".

Reacting to the alteration on social media, one person tweeted Vimto and wrote: "Nearly 600,000 people did Veganuary in 2021, added onto the hundreds of thousands who signed up in previous years.

"Whilst most companies are adapting their products to be vegan friendly, you have decided to take the backwards step of making a vegan product non vegan."

While another penned: "Way to go backwards, Vimto. Way. To. Go."

"It's 2021 and @vimto just regressed and made their drinks not suitable for vegans," a third person wrote. "I really hope they reconsider (hey Vimto, there are vegan sources of Vitamin D why not use them?)".

Credit: Twitter
Credit: Twitter
Credit: Twitter
Credit: Twitter
Credit: Twitter
Credit: Twitter

The alteration comes as Public Health England recently endorsed taking Vitamin D supplements daily.

Vimto explained on its website recently: "All of our Vimto squash drinks are suitable for vegetarians. Due to the recent addition of Vitamin D they are not suitable for vegans.

"However, all of our other Vimto drinks variants, including fizzy and still ready to drink ranges, do not contain any animal products and as such, are suitable for vegetarians and vegans".

There are, of course, some products that neither veggies and vegans can indulge in, such as Vimto jelly babies, Vimto fizzy pencils and Vimto flying saucers.

The Vimto fizzy drink is still available for vegans (Credit: Shutterstock)
The Vimto fizzy drink is still available for vegans (Credit: Shutterstock)

Responding to the backlash, the owners of the drink said: "At Nichols PLC we are committed to providing our consumers with healthier choices, and have recently re-launched our Vimto squash range with the added benefit of Vitamin D.

"We value consumer feedback and have taken this on board throughout the new product development process.

"We can confirm that our Vimto Squash fortified with Vitamin D, whilst suitable for vegetarians, is unsuitable for vegans.

"All other drinks in the Vimto range remain suitable for vegans."

Topics: Tasty Drink, Vegan, Food & Drink, Tasty

Joanna Freedman
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You

TV & Film

Liverpool will host Eurovision Song Contest 2023 on behalf of Ukraine

2 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

New Netflix horror series just broke world record for most jump scares in single episode

10 hours ago