Facebook Is Finally Introducing An 'Unsend' Feature On Messenger
We've all been there, whether it's sending an embarrassing text after a few too many, or sending a screenshot to the wrong person - we all have at some point wished we could 'unsend' a message.
Thankfully, Facebook has our backs as it is introducing a new feature in messenger so you can unsend that cringe-worthy message and pretend it never happened.
All you have to worry about is making sure you send all your embarrassing messages through Messenger.
INTERESTING... Facebook Messenger's long-awaited delete messages feature will only give you a 10 minute window to remove a message in a chat pic.twitter.com/ew1z2WPXbc
- Matt Navarra (@MattNavarra) November 7, 2018
Twitter user Matt Navarra spotted that the new feature is listed under 'coming soon' in the apps description on the App Store.
In release notes published on the App Store, Facebook announced that the 'unsend' feature is coming soon.
The description reads: "Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it's been sent.
Facebook Messenger is finally working on "Unsend Message" in the app for everyone!
Tip @Techmeme pic.twitter.com/5OtQrmyID3
- Jane Manchun Wong (@wongmjane) October 12, 2018
"If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it."
There is a catch as your message can only be deleted up to 10 minutes after you have sent it, so hopefully you come to your senses pretty quickly.
Once you 'unsend' the message it will wipe it from your chat history and remove the message from the recipient's inbox as well.
When editing messages sent in a conversation, 'Unsend Message' appears above 'Delete Message'.
Once you select 'Unsend Message', a pop-up appears asking the user to confirm the choice.
There were rumours of the update last month after tech expert Jane Manchun Wong discovered the feature on her own app.
Whatsapp, which is owned by Facebook, already has the 'unsend function.
However, you are given one hour to 'unsend' the message, rather than the 10 minutes Facebook will offer.
Featured Image Credit: PA Images