| Last updated
Can't remember the last time you logged into PayPal? Us neither.
However, if it was over a year ago then you'll want to act fast, as the online payment service is set to introduce an annual of up to £12 for users whose accounts have been inactive for 12 months or more.
Luckily the money God that is Martin Lewis is here to save us once more with solid advice on how we can avoid these charges and we're extremely grateful.
If you haven't sent, received, withdrawn money or logged into your account during this time then it will be deemed inactive, but there's a simple way to avoid the charge before the fee is introduced on December 16th, 2020.
Just log into your account. Yep, that's all you need to do. This will deem your account active and you won't be charged.
If you don't log in before the deadline, you'll be charged either £12, or if your PayPal balance is less than this, they will just take that amount.
If you don't have any money in your account, or your balance in negative, you won't be charged a fee.
If you don't ever use your account, Martin says it might be worth just closing your account to avoid being charged in the future.
Once you're logged in, go to 'Settings' and select 'Close your account' at the bottom of the 'Account' tab).
Alternatively, as you won't be charged if you don't have any money in your account, he recommends transferring any money you have in there into a different account, so you can leave your account open without any of the associated charges.
Paypal users warning. It is going to introduce a £12 inactivity fee. Here's how it works, and how to avoid it... https://t.co/fPJkizykEo
Feel free to share.
- Martin Lewis (@MartinSLewis) October 13, 2020
PayPal says it will send reminders, but don't forget to login to your account before December 15th - no-one wants to lose money for no reason!
Chosen for YouChosen for You
Most Read StoriesMost Read